The Creatures in the Garden

There is a lot of activity in the garden these days. Aside from the growing plants, a myriad of creatures go their busy ways. Squirrels, raccoons, lizards, many kinds of birds and butterflies, bees and dragonflies appear on a daily basis. Unfortunately, we have seen a few deer here as well, for the first time since we moved in.

I am not patient enough, nor is my camera swift enough, to capture photos of the dragonflies or the Northern alligator lizards, but I did manage to take a few shots of a butterfly who stopped by to visit the tiger lilies. The presence of all these creatures in my garden inspired me to make a print, using the techniques of collagraph and embossing.

The print is shown below. The four corners feature a bee, a dragonfly, a crow and a lizard. Unfortunately, the embossed rose at the centre of the print did not show up well, hard as I tried to light it and photograph it. Finally, I found that a black and white version of the photograph showed the embossing more clearly. I know my readers have the imagination to put the two images together to form a complete picture!

Rose and Creatures Print

“The Creatures in the Garden”, collagraph and embossing, approx. 11″ x 12″

 

 

22 thoughts on “The Creatures in the Garden

  1. I’ve been away far too long. I could do a post about creatures in my garden. Come to think of it, I guess “Infestation” is a version… Your creatures are more welcome though. I’m thinking about the armadillo damage I found this morning. A creature I would just as soon not have around.

    Like

      • A collagraph is printed from a “plate” made by gluing things (in this case, cut-out cardstock) onto a rigid surface (in this case, matboard). The word is derived from the Greek word koll or kolla, meaning glue, and graph, meaning the activity of drawing. These paper printing plates are flimsy looking things and it amazes me every time that prints can actually be produced from them.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I find more and more pleasure in the garden. It is a real privilege to have a quiet, private space and an opportunity to express my own sense of beauty and design in a natural setting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

