Indoor Flowers

Today is a sunny day, but we’ve had a lot of rain and wind over the past week. It might reach 9 deg. C. this afternoon, if we’re lucky. There’s a lot of mud in the flower beds and there are no flowers at all, unless you count the tiny buds forming on the hellebores.

A couple of weeks ago, I went on a mini shopping spree in the florist’s department at a local supermarket. I bought some Iris reticulata and white hyacinths in pots, as well as a glass container of Paperwhite Narcissus bulbs in bloom.

To my delight, the Miltoniopsis I purchased last year at this time came into bloom again (more about this in my next post). These flowers blooming indoors are cheerful and remind me that winter doesn’t last forever.

Paperwhites From DiaryOpening my 2015 Royal Horticultural Society Diary to the page for Week 3 of the new year, I found a reproduction of a painting of Paperwhite Narcissus. The caption is: “Narcissus tazetta var. chinensis, sometimes called the Chinese sacred lily, from one of four volumes of paintings by anonymous Chinese artists purchased by the RHS in 1912.”

These RHS diaries are a pleasure to use, although I miss the pocket inside the front cover that came with last year’s edition.

 

Studies of a Miltoniopsis Flower

Studies of a Miltoniopsis Flower

 

 

20 thoughts on “Indoor Flowers

    • Thank you! I have the irises outdoors as well, also in pots. There is lots of green showing, but I don’t expect the buds for a few weeks yet. I was very pleased by the re-flowering of the Miltoniopsis.

      Like

  1. Several years ago I was able to get a copy of the illustrations of Thomas Green’s Herbal for a library patron. Each specimen is so very beautiful on it’s own. The starkness of botanical art always reminds me of indoor Winter flowers because both are viewed apart from their natural surroundings. I resurrect an amaryllis each Winter, enjoying every moment of its short but spectacular bloom. Individual beauty is a wonderful thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • What you say is very true, that botanical art is like indoor flowers “because both are viewed apart from their natural surroundings.” Thank you for your comment, I always learn something from you.

      Like

    • Thanks, Ashley. Flowers don’t always have a nice smell, especially when they’re brought indoors. This is true of lilacs, for instance. It’s wonderful when they bring a delicious, flowery scent into the house. It is uplifting.

      Like

  2. I like the Miltoniopsis, never had one ( flowers of prints 🙂
    I usually keep in the garage a couple of pots with Iris reticulata and I bring them in the house in February for a splash of colour.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a wonderful display, I especially love the Iris reticulata. The blue and stark white great together. I have RHS address books (one for work, one for play) and they have pockets in the front, this gives me much pleasure! Painting is as lovely as always x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Remember two years ago when I had to use your photo of Iris reticulata because I’d lost mine in a computer crash? Yeah, I’m a bit sad about the “no pocket” situation–maybe I’ll get one next year. 🙂

      Like

  4. Beautiful art!
    When I lived in Massachusetts I often bought florist bouquets for indoors…one of the better shops in town had “Floral Happy Hours” on Fridays…everything 50% off, and boy did I load up! LOL Hadn’t thought about that in awhile…good memories thanks to your post! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

