Late Lily

As much as I hate to point this out, my last post was on June 23rd of this year. While “of this year” is better than “of [any other] year,” it is a very long time ago by blogging standards. In fact, the reader may be forgiven for assuming that the title of this post refers to the blogger herself. In my own defense,

  • I have almost caught up with reading and commenting (somewhat sparsely) on blogs I follow,
  • I have ideas for at least three posts,
  • I’ve done the drawing for a new painting and transferred it to watercolour paper,
  • I’ve cleaned my palette.

I haven’t been idle during this time. Printmaking has continued, resulting in two new editions, including the print shown at the bottom of this post, “Tibetan Blue Poppy #2,” a follow up on the painting in my last post, “The Monocarpic Meconopsis“.

Strawberry Candy DaylilyHowever, apt as the appellation might be, “Late Lily” does not refer to me but to the daylily now blooming in my garden. It is mid-October in Canada, clearly no longer summer, even in Victoria, B.C., the “Lotusland” of Canada*. We do not expect daylilies with numerous buds and a couple of blossoms at this time of year.

This anomalous Hemerocallis  goes by the name “Strawberry Candy”. It was hybridized by Patrick Stamile and won a number of awards, including the Stout Medal, awarded by the American Hemerocallis Society. A daylily must win three other highly prized awards before it can even be considered for Stout Medal honours.

*Lotusland – coined by Vancouver Sun writer Allan Fotheringham, Lotusland refers to Homer’s Odyssey, in which the hero, Odysseus, visits a land whose inhabitants are befuddled by a narcotic lotus (the “Land of the Lotus-Eaters”). It sometimes is used to describe all of British Columbia. (Wikipedia, “Nicknames of Vancouver“)

"Tibetan Blue Poppy #2", drypoint and chine-collé on paper, 6" x 8"

“Tibetan Blue Poppy #2″, drypoint and chine-collé on paper, 6″ x 8”

 

29 thoughts on “Late Lily

    • I do appreciate your comments. I always think Victoria would be a hard act to follow, but I very much enjoyed the year I spent in Toronto–multiculturalism, easy access to the arts and so many ways of making winter bearable, such as the flowers blooming in pots in front of little grocery stores. I’ve always wanted to travel across Canada by train and perhaps I still will (sketchbook in hand, of course!).

      Like

  1. Welcome back 😉 I would love to see a showcase with more of your prints, I am sure they are all as beautiful as the Blue poppy.
    I’ll keep in mind the ‘Strawberry Candy’ if I’ll ever have a garden with enough space for daylilies!

    Like

    • I’m sure eventually you will have a garden with enough space for daylilies. You’re so passionate about plants and propagation.

      I’ve been making drypoint prints for less than a year now and all of the prints I’ve done so far are included in the gallery section of this blog.

      Like

      • I don’t know why I had the impression that you are doing them for a long time now…

        Out of topic, the Delphinium you liked, had a few seeds, not enough to put it in the Catalogue (and I have some doubts about its name) but if you would like to give them a try please send me an email with your address.

        Like

    • I do appreciate your comment. This print was a bit tricky, as there is a piece of yellow paper the size of the plate itself that has to go on top of all the gluey smaller pieces. There’s really no “wiggle room” at all.

      Like

    • Thanks for your comment.

      “Strawberry Candy” is supposed to be a reliably re-blooming daylily and it didn’t bloom earlier in the year. We’ve had a long dry summer and it lasted pretty much right through September. That’s my best guess.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

